Cindy's Country Mix

do it yourself projects, watercolor

Glitter

Leave a comment

I do like glitter and lots of it!  If it sparkles, it makes me happy.  So, today I made the time to paint my tennies with some holographic paint.

Yesterday, I bought some Extreme Glitter Acrylic Paint by FolkArt.  With no idea of what I would use it for, I bought it because it looked pretty.  Then, today, I was staring at my shoes and the paint came to mind.

It was easy peasy.  The paint is acrylic so it cleans up with soap and water.  I got a brush and set the shoes on a newspaper here at my desk.  I had one shoe done, before I remembered to snap a before photo.

Tennis shoe.This is how it looked before I began painting.  Last night, I sewed battenburg lace doilies onto the tongues.  Doesn’t it look cute?  This is a girlie thing, for any guys who are reading.

I opened the paint bottle and began painting just the saddle portion of the shoes.  I just painted one coat.  The instructions say to paint multiple coats until the desired effect is reached.  The paint cures in 24 hours.  There is no mention of whether or not it is waterproof, but it does say to clean it up with soap and water BEFORE it dries.

Tennis shoes painted with hologram glitter paint.

This is how they look in the sunshine.  The glitter has an aqua look to it.  I guess that’s good because aqua is my favorite color.  After studying them for a while, I am thinking that I may paint all of the canvas.  I’m going to wear them like this for a while to see how I like them.

Like I said above, I like anything that sparkles.  I have an aurora borealis crystal necklace.  I found it years ago at an antique store.  It is BEAUTIFUL.  When worn over a white blouse it is amazingly sparkly (if that’s a word).  I often wore it to church on Sundays and taught three year old Sunday school.  I told my little people that it reminded me of heaven when I looked at it.

Heaven is a beautiful place and each one of us, as a believer in Christ, has our own personal mansion.  “Eye has not seen, nor ear heard, nor have entered into the heart of man the things which God has prepared for those who love Him.” 1 Corinthians 2:9 NKJV  I am confident that all of heaven is brilliantly sparkly with Christ’s light. “The city had no need of the sun or of the moon to shine in it, for the glory of God illuminated it. The Lamb is its light.” Revelation 21:21 NKJV And I can only imagine how wonderful it will be.

Do you like to personalize your clothing and belongings?  I enjoy seeing other people’s creations.  Please post a comment, so I can stop by your blog!

Thanks for stopping by.  You can also chat with me on Facebook or Twitter and follow me on Pinterest.

***********************************************************************************

About the ads that follow: They are not placed by me  and are not associated with this post.  They are placed by WordPress on blogs that are free.  Thank you for your understanding.

Author: Cindy

Christian, wife, mother, grandmother, artist.

Leave a Reply

