Cindy's Country Mix

do it yourself projects, watercolor

Game Table Cover

4 Comments

Canned lights are complete and working!

canned lights

On our screened porch we have an air hockey table that the grandkids all love.  Being on a screened porch can be dangerous to the table.  Rain blowing could potentially damage it.  So, I went to Walmart and bought an inexpensive fleece backed vinyl table cloth and threw it over it.  The wind just blew it right off!  I put cute little birdy tablecloth weights on the corners.  They weren’t much help. Plus, my husband said, even with a cover, water would just pool on the top of it if it rained in hard enough.

After a trip to Home Depot for a sheet of styrofoam insulation, my husband cut it to just the right size for the table.

20140331_160846

See how it fits nicely?

20140331_160820

Then I laid the tablecloth upside down on the table and measured where to sew on elastic. You can see the marks I made with a black marker.

20140331_162746

I proceeded to stretch and sew the elastic onto the tablecloth.  It’s really simple.  You just pull the elastic taught while sewing it on.  It causes the fabric to gather.

20140331_163512

Now, the tablecloth is more form fitting and perhaps the wind will not be able to blow it off so easily.  I hope not anyway.

game table cover

What’s next?  A past due mailbox post!

Thanks for stopping by.  You can also chat with me on Facebook or follow me on Pinterest.

***********************************************************************************

About the ads that follow: They are not placed by me  and are not associated with this post.  They are placed by WordPress on blogs that are free.  Thank you for your understanding.

 

 

Author: Cindy

Christian, wife, mother, grandmother, artist.

4 thoughts on “Game Table Cover

  1. So clever!!!

  2. What a great idea, Cindy! You have yourself a dual-purpose table now. I love how you designed the new cover. 🙂

  3. Thanks, Kim. I suppose it would make a great outdoor buffet this way. Thanks for the tip. 🙂

Leave a Reply

